Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 309 and 310 November 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:09 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Day 309, I skipped breakfast and stayed warm in bed until the very last minute.  For lunch, I had the Mesquite Grilled Salmon Salad at Cafe Josie.  Dinner with the folks, was at Corazon, and I had the New York Strip, side salad, hold the potatoes.

Day 310, my friend Stephanie had asked me to help her Confituras* booth at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market, so I bundled up and headed up to the market early.  (At some point during my getting ready, I did something really painful to my hip, pinched a nerve perhaps.)  After getting all set up at the market, I had a Migas Taco from Taco Deli.   I was excited to see the first crop of tangerines arrive at the market, and even more excited to see what Stephanie will make with them.  This excitement is one of the things I’ve learned to appreciate from not going to the grocery store – to look forward to the fruits and vegetables by their season.  I did not buy any tangerines, although Stephanie gave me a few from her bushel, because I had no plan for them and don’t want them to go to waste.  Now that they are here, I can think of how I want to incorporate them into my meal plans, and buy them accordingly.  Once the market started winding down, I succumbed to the wonderful smells all around, and got an order of Belgium fries from Max Parfait.  I then hobbled home and laid down, where I stayed the rest of the day and evening.  Thankfully, I had some Turkey Gumbo in my freezer from Dai Due, so I made some Lowell Farms rice, and had gumbo and rice for dinner.

*Look for Confituras wonderful preserves at the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown, beginning 11/13/10.  She is also at the Triangle Farmer’s Market on Wednesday, Breed and Company, both locations, Con’ Olio in the Arboretum, La Boite  and through Farmhouse Delivery.  Also coming back to the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown – hot food!  The city has changed their permit requirements.  Look for Bola Pizza to be showing up at the market in the next couple of weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

