Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 307 and 308 November 6, 2010

Day 307, I had a boiled egg for breakfast, taco salad for lunch with the leftover taco meat from Monday.  I scored some of the first broccoli of the Fall at the Triangle Farmer’s market, and was excited to roast it for dinner, topped with a little parmesan and ate it with Kocurek Jalapeno Chicken Sausage.

Day 308, I missed breakfast, had a small salad for lunch.  At noon, I put a Richardson Farms arm roast in the slow cooker with onions, carrots, and some red wine.  It was the leanest cut of roast I’ve ever purchased, and took longer than I expected to cook until tender.  It was good, once it was finally done.  I have “The French Chef” with Julia Child and Jamie Oliver’s old show set to record on The Cooking Channel.  I was inspired by watching Julia’s  boeuf bourguignon segment, and with the renderings from the roast, which had a large bone, I decided to make beef stock.

Cooking it down

 

Carrots, onions, garlic, juices from the roast, fresh thyme, fresh bay, a tomato, the beef bone, water, and red wine cooked down for several hours and voila, beautiful, rich, flavorful beef stock, soon to be the base for a wonderful stew or soup.

 

Beef stock

So the following day, I saw a tweet from The Food Network, that AT&T U-verse had just discontinued their contracts with The Food Network, The Cooking Channel, and DIY Network.  I have AT&T U-verse and I will be switching to a service that carries these channels, that I find inspiration in.  Sad news.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Days 307 and 308”

  1. Claudia Says:

    Oh, that sucks. Not that I watch often but still. probably won’t switch as I MUST keep the NFL network, and don’t feel like going through the hassle….for now anyway.


Leave a Reply

