Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 301 October 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:33 am
Tags: , ,

I was up quite early to walk around Town Lake at yesterday.  I actually slept very well, after hearing the weather man declare, “The cold front is here!” before going to bed.  I think I believed I was cold all night, and that helped me sleep.  I sleep better when my house is cold.  So, when the alarm went off, I hit the snooze a couple of times, then jumped up and started layering, with sweat pants and a sweatshirt on top, for my cold weather walk.  But, when I opened the door, it wasn’t cold.  I turned on the news, and it said the temperature was 69.  So not cold.  So, I re-dressed and went for my 3 mile walk.

I was determined to eat breakfast, so that I didn’t overeat at lunch, so when I got home at 7:00 a.m., I put two eggs in to boil.  Then I sat down at the computer, finished a blog post, responded to a couple of emails, tweeted, and I looked down at it was 7:30.  This is my breakfast problem, poor time management, and failure to prioritize having breakfast as being important.  So I had 2 over-boiled eggs for breakfast.

On a wild hare, (or hair, I never know?) I decided to stop at Cafe Josie for lunch.  I texted a friend, and we had a lunch date within 10 minutes of lunchtime.  So, for lunch, Mesquite Grilled Salmon Salad.  I had an additional motive, to reiterate to the chef, my desire to help him at the Empty Bowl Project this year, which we had talked about last week.  Charles always provides his amazing soup to the Empty Bowl Project, a fundraiser for the Capital Area Food Bank, and I have attempted to volunteer before, but it books up fast for participants and volunteers.  Local celebrities and chefs paint ceramic soup bowls which are then sold and filled with soup at the event buy local chefs.  I’m going to help Charles serve his amazing soup, and I’ve also been invited to a soup bowl painting event, which I’m looking forward to.  It feels good to do good.

So, with the blustery cold Fall weather in the air, and soup on my mind, I made soup for dinner.  With leftover chicken, garden peppers, cilantro and onions, farmer’s market tomatoes, and homemade chicken stock, I put together a hot, flavorful soup for a cold evening.  I topped it with some local cheese from Antonelli’s, I can’t remember which as it was in a ziplock.  Fall dinner, just as it should be.

 

Leave a Reply

