Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 300 – Con’ Olio October 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:08 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Wow, the 300th day seems like a milestone for my little self-imposed “No Grocery Store Challenge”.  Honestly, I was pre-occupied and didn’t give it a thought.  No breakfast – I suck.  I needed to spend some time with my mom, and also wanted to check out the Pots and Plants closing sale.  So, we went there, (the pink flamingo nursery) on Bee Caves and 360, and checked it out.  They still had tons of pots and plants, and a gorgeous potting table that I really want, but it isn’t in the budget.  The obvious choice for lunch was The Grove, just accress 360.  I had The Grove Chopped Salad.  It was pretty good, not the best thing I’ve had there.

Next, off to the Triangle Farmer’s market for coffee and bacon.  It is odd that I’m always buying breakfast fare, but can’t seem to manage breakfast.

There is a very cool, newish shop in the Arboretum, called Con’ Olio.  It is a huge array of olive oils, from all over the globe, including some really interesting flavored ones, basalmic vinegars, including interesting flavored ones (peach was a hit last night), pastas, sauces, and preserves including Confituras.  My friend Christian asked me to help him organize a food blogger event at Con’ Olio, which occurred last night.  Kendall from Antonelli’s Cheese shop was there with interesting cheeses which she paired with olive oils and basalmic vinegars and Artisan Bistro was there with Croque Monsieur sandwiches and bread to soak up the olive oils.

Attempting to eat low carb heading into the holidays (still making up for birthday month!) I just had some cheese for dinner.  I got home with some interesting wines, some Texas Olive Ranch olive oil, and a bottle of Porcini Oil, generously gifted to me for my help.  The Porcini Oil is so fragrant and flavorful, just a dab of the oil evokes thoughts of mushroomy risottos, pastas andFall.  Their Black Truffle Oil was also very popular as were many of the flavored vinegars.  The Dark Chocolate Basalmic Vinegar sounded intriguing with strawberries.  I’m seeing Christmas Gift Basket makings already with these wonderful oils and vinegars.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 300 – Con’ Olio”

  1. Bill Says:

    Woo hoo! 300 days! You rock!!!
    2 months to go. I want to come to your celebration party. Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

