Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 294 – Slow Food Happy Hour October 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:13 am
Tags: , ,

I skipped breakfast again.  Boring lunch was  reheated frozen Thunderheart Bison patty leftover from dinner sometime in the past.  I was in a hurry, and I’m trying to eat everything in my freezer.  It was not very good.  After spending a long 2 hours at the vet with my golden retreiver,  (and$341 later), I was rushing to the Slow Food Happy Hour at Jeffrey’s.  They really treated us well, with amazing wine and food that was stunningly delicious.  Their newish chef Deegan is a genius with food.  There was a squash dip that I didn’t try, but the passed appetizers were gorgeous and so good.  Two of my favorites were Beef Tartare on a puff pastry that wasn’t really a pastry but was thin hollow and really crispy.  It had a lemoney bite and a creamy element.  There was a Dewberry Hills Farm chicken breast bite that was delicious.  The star of the evening for me was Quail Leg Confit with pomegranite over a thick greek yogurt with radishes.  Crazy good, I wish I’d taken a menu to get these descriptions right.   They did a wonderful and thoughtful  job of sourcing nearly every element of each dish locally.   It was a really fun event.  I wasn’t too hungry when I got home, but determined to have breakfast pre-made for the next few (really busy) days, so I cooked the Kocurek Czech Bacon I got from the Triangle Farmer’s Market, and had to sample a slice.

Today 10/22 is the last day to take advantage of the reduced membership to Slow Food.  To join, you join slow Food USA, then designate your City.  We have some great events, farm tours, happy hours, classes and its a good group of people.  $25 for the discounted membership is a bargain.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 294 – Slow Food Happy Hour”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Is your puppy OK?

    • She is 12, so she has cataracts, arthritis and we found out now that she has some kidney issues. She still feels good and gets around pretty well, so she is going to be sticking around a while longer, thankfully. Thanks for asking, you are sweet.


Leave a Reply

