Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Time to Plant Strawberries – Updated Post October 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:23 am
Tags: ,

My gardening time clock must be a little off this year, because it seems like I always plant strawberries when it it cold.  But, rather than defer to my inner gardener, I’ll refer to the experts telling me its time to plant strawberries.  Natural Gardener has its first batch of strawberry transplants, Chandler, Sequoia and Seascape.

Seascapes are described as large, sweet and hardy with superb flavor.

Chandler is a favorite for its large yields and long producing time.

The Sequoia variety is known for its large robust fruit, bearing from early Spring to Mid-summer.

Plant your strawberry plants in a sunny location in acidic soil.   Set plants about 12 to 15 inches apart.   Add a layer of mulch, straw or plastic sheeting around the plants to prevent weeds from growing and to conserve moisture.  They do equally well in pots or other containers such as Earthboxes or hanging baskets.  I’m going to plant some in an Earthbox to compare to growing them in the raised garden.
I have planted Chandlers and Sequoias historically, and one set of plants produced better than the other, but as usual, I did not mark them, so I can’t say which did best.  I’m going to try all three varieties this year and keep them well marked.
Growing strawberries is extremely rewarding, and really very easy.  They require little care through the winter, but once Spring comes around they should be fertilized and will start to require more water.  Picking ripe, red, delicious strawberries out of your garden in the Spring and Summer is as good as it gets.

Newly Planted Strawberry Patch

Here was my strawberry patch last year, just after planting.   In looking for that photo, my last “Time to Plant Strawberries” post was 10/31/09, so we are right on target.

Strawberries in April

And I ate strawberries all Spring and part of the Summer.
Update: Just returned from Natural Gardener, and once I get the soil ready to plant, I’m good to go!  Finding the time to do any gardening in the next 3 days will be the hold up.

Meet the Chandlers, Sequoias and Seascapes

Woo Hoo!  I’m excited for the new generation of strawberries.

 

4 Responses to “Time to Plant Strawberries – Updated Post”

  1. Do you pinch your first flowers off, as some do, or leave them be? I pinched mine off last year because I heard the plant needs all its energy to strengthen its root system before producing fruit in the spring and summer. I’m wondering if I should do the same this year or not.

    • Hey Caroline,
      I do try to pinch the flowers off, but I’m not as meticulous about it as I could be. Some of the plants I got yesterday, have fruit on them which I’m tempted to leave, but probably shouldn’t.

  2. Claudia Says:

    hey Carla,
    I did well with Seascapes in the spring, in pots. They were indeed tasty. Two of my pots died in the summer but the last one is doing great. I will buy more next week and see what happens. I am keeping them in pots as I have run out of current garden beds. I almost went to Nat Gard today, too, but ran out of day 🙂

    • Hey Claudia,
      Good to hear, as I’ve never tried Seascapes before. I’m hoping to get my soil amended and get them in the ground late Saturday afternoon. I seem to keep running out of day, too. I hope to see you at Boggy Creek on Sunday for the Green Corn fundraiser. If not there, somewhere soon? Give my best to Pickles and tell him to keep out of the carrots. 🙂


Leave a Reply

