Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 292 and 293 October 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:39 am
Tags: , ,

Day 292, Tuesday, I had two scrambled eggs for breakfast.  I had a lunch date to celebrate a friend’s birthday, and went to 34th Street Cafe.  I had a salad, Chef or Cobb, I can’t remember which it was called, but had them leave off the ham.  Not a ham fan.  I spent dinner with friends at Cafe Josie’s Wine Me Dine Me dinner, my splurge for the month.  The food was paired with Arygle Wines as follows:

Blue Crab Mac & Cheese, with Gruyere and White Truffle Oil – Argyle Brut 2006

Mesquite Smoked Sockeye Salmon with Dijon Hollandaise and Rosemary Roasted New Potatoes – Argyle Nuthouse Chardonnay 2006

Seared Jumbo Sea Scallop with Hazelnut Pesto on Sundried Tomato Puree and Micro Greens – Argyle Nuthouse Pinot Noir 2006

Pork Wellington, Pork Tenderloin baked in Pastry with Dried pears, Walnuts, Spices and Roquefort with Wine Sage Cream Reduction – Argyle Willamette Valley Pinot Noir 2008.

Wow, everything was perfect and I was glad to have been reintroduced to this wine after quite some time, it was fabulous.  We skipped out on the dessert course because we were full.

Day 293

After a good 3 mile walk, I managed to skip breakfast again.  The effect of which is not lost on me, as I was starving by lunch and had no willpower to eat sensibly.  I get it.  Chicken enchiladas verde at Mi Madres.  After getting home later than I had planned from the Triangle Farmer’s Market (I ran into so many friends there!) and having no dinner plan, I made quesadillas with flour tortillas from the Barton Creek Market and Full Quiver Pepper Jack.

 

Leave a Reply

