Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 290 October 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:24 pm
Tags:

Breakfast, 2 scrambled eggs from my friend Patrick’s chickens.   For lunch I had a few leftover ribs from yesterday – they just get better.  At the SFC Farmer’s Market yesterday, I bought 2 lovely pieces of fish, one Grouper fillet and some Red Snapper, from San Miguel Seafood.  I bought more than I needed, but there was just one piece of Grouper left and my competitive nature made me claim it.  After perusing interesting recipes, I decided to go to an old standard of mine, and make use of lots I had grown at home.  It is a recipe I adapted from The Lake Austin Spa Cookbook, I think.  So, my dinner started in the garden:

 

Garden limes, peppers and cilantro

 

I picked some serrano peppers, cilantro from the patio herb garden and the last three limes from the lime tree.

I added to the mix, Farmer’s Market tomatoes, onion and garlic.

 

Dinner fixins

 

I chopped it all roughly and put it in a bowl, then mixed it together, and topped the fish with it on a sheet of foil.   I added salt and pepper, then squeezed lime over the whole lot.

 

Vegetables over fish

 

I made a tight tent out of the foil, so that the fish would steam in the lime juice with the veggie mixture on top.

 

Fish Tent

 

After about 30 minutes in the oven on 350, dinner was done.   This is amazing served over very aromatic rice, such as the Lowell Farms Jasmine Rice I have, but I was attempting to take the carbs out of it and lightened it up, so I had it by itself.   The freshest ever red snapper, a bit of heat from the peppers, a touch of acid from the lime, and the richness of the garlic with tomatoes and onions.  Very good, filling, protein dense and light on calories and carbs.  And, I have more for lunch and the grouper for another dinner.  And, no, I didn’t eat this whole piece!

 

Snapper a la VeraCarla

I’m pretty proud of my “slow it down” 5 days.  I feel a bit more grounded, less harried, and less over scheduled.  It is so easy to get caught up in all of the activities going on, and I had run myself down, and had been feeling on the verge of getting sick, and just too tired all the time.   I’m going to try for a little more balance going forward, more exercise and more healthy eating.

 

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 290”

  1. Jeff Says:

    That’s looks really good…so fresh. I love the cilantro and lime flavors. We eat a lot of vietnamese food, which uses a lot of cilantro, basil, lettuce, lime and bean sprouts. It’s added raw to noodles and some grilled beef…so good and flavorful. Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to give that baked fish a go.

    Jeff
    TheGardenCloche.com | Garden Plants Covers

    • Thank you, it is an easy recipe that can be altered any way you choose. I’ve been craving Thai and Vietnamese food lately, and have been meaning to take a class to broaden my range. Thank you for the inspiration and for taking the time to comment.


Leave a Reply

