Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 284 – Book Club October 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:48 am
Tags: , , ,

After a brisk 3 mile walk around Town Lake, I made myself some breakfast.  I had already cooked a pound of Dai Due chorizo, for convenience, so I headed a little up and scrambled two eggs with it.  A dollop of Taco Deli dona sauce gave me the endorphin surge to keep me going.   Lunch with a friend at Cisco’s, trying to remember our college days, and I ordered the half fajita plate and just ate it as a fajita salad.  Dinner was an assortment of things from book club at my house.  The book club is a Food Lover’s Book Club, and normally most people make something to bring.  This time, everyone was so busy, most things were purchased on the way over.  Still, some tasty vittles.

Smoked Salmon

I had picked up a Full Quiver Cheese Ball from the farmer’s market.  I love cheese balls!  They are so 70’s Americana.  Full Quiver’s are actually quite amazing – I bought my first one to be silly and was surprised that it was so good.

Full Quiver Chipotle Cheese Ball

Hard Salami

Someone also brought this salami and some french bread.

Spinach Crepes

These spinach crepes were tasty, too.  One attendee also brought a salad which I did not get a photo of, and someone made a black rice and vegetable salad.  We ate well.

And also had a bit of vino.

Ready for Wine

I’ve been doing quite a bit of entertaining lately, and this has been my wine of choice.  La Vieille Ferme, a Cotes du Ventoux  wine from Rhone Valley Vineyards.  I get it at the Austin Wine Merchant and it is less than $10.00.  Amazing value and everyone loves it.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 284 – Book Club”

  1. Jodi Says:

    I’m so glad to know about that wine. So good! So cheap!

  2. I know! It is my go to wine for everything now and I’ve never met anyone who didn’t think it was delicious.


Leave a Reply

