Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 280 – Tour de Vin October 8, 2010

Day 280 and I skipped breakfast.  I had lunch with my business partner from Franklin BBQ.  I had not been to Franklin since the Tasty Up Trailer Tour, but I expected a line early.  I got there at precisely 11:06 and there was a line of about 25 people.  It took 45 minutes for me to get to the trailer to order.  Apparently they have procured another smoker which will be up and running soon, and this will help alleviate the wait.  Another person taking orders might help too.  We had brisket, ribs and potato salad.  It was fabulous, although I like my potato salad with less mustard.  Franklin rocks!

Dinner was a variety of snacks at Tour de Vin.  Tour de Vin is an annual wine and food event put on by the Wine and Food Foundation, and it is held on the rooftop of Whole Foods downtown, overlooking the gorgeous Austin skyline.  It was wonderful weather, and the food and wine were great.

 

Eggplant Soup from Foreign and Domestic

 

This Eggplant Soup from Foreign and Domestic was a great use of the abundant eggplant still gracing our farmer’s markets.  They also had macaroons, but I didn’t have one.

 

Foreign and Domestic Macaroons

 

I thought this Pumpkin Ravioli from Sagra looked good, so I got one.  I was unable to cut it with my fork because of the texture.  I saw some folks eating it like a pizza, which seemed unappealing, so I abandoned the effort.

 

Pumpkin Ravioli

Dagar Catering always brings good food.  They had a good array with pot stickers, a tuna roll and some smaller bits which I didn’t try.  The pot stickers and tuna were great.

 

 

Pot Stickers

 

One of my favorite bites of the evening was the Pate from Fabi and Rosi.  I ate there right after they first opened, and wasn’t all that impressed.  This Pate will give me a reason to try them again, because it was great.  I didn’t get a photo of the small bite, but was intrigued instead to take a picture of the whole Pate en Brioche.

 

Fabi and Rosi Pate

 

Another favorite dish of the evening was a noodle salad dish from Thai Fresh, of which I did not get a picture.

It was a lovely evening, at a wonderful event in perfect weather with good friends.  Who could ask for more.

 

Leave a Reply

