Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 276 and 277 October 5, 2010

Day 276 was Sunday, my favorite day for breakfast.  So, I sauteed some garden onions, and scrambled 2 Vital Farms eggs into the onions then loaded them down with garlic chives and tarragon from my garden and finished them off with some grated Full Quiver Cheese, and a dollop of Dona Sauce from Taco Deli.  Not hungry for lunch, and having done paperwork all day, I was kidnapped by friends who thought I sounded a bit down.  They swooped me up and took me to Antonelli’s Cheese Shop, the site of all things happy, filled with love and amazing cheese.  I bought a bottle of wine and some Salt and Time Genoa Salami and we went and had ourselves a little outdoor picnic of yummy cheeses, wine and Barrie’s great bread.  We sampled some olive oils and called it dinner.  Perfect.

Day 277, after a chilly walk around Lady Bird Lake, I managed to eat 2 boiled eggs for breakfast.  I was still full and skipped lunch.  I had defrosted a Richardson Farms 7 Roast over the weekend.   Ever since my lunch at Whip- In last month, I’ve been craving Indian Food.  I didn’t know anything about this cut of roast, but I figured low and slow was called for, so I rubbed it down with Garam Masala spice, and Cayenne Pepper, seared it and put it in the slow cooker on high with several cups of water, garlic and garden onions.  After an hour, I turned it down to low and let it cook for about 5 hours, until the meat fell off the bone.  (The bones were my clue that this was a tougher cut of meat.) The house smelled wonderful, with those aromatic Indian spices.  I ate it with some Lowell Farms Jasmine rice, having no other vegetables in the house.   I took some pictures to share, but beef roast is a hard thing to photograph, so I’ll spare you.   Some of my photos remind me too much of James Lileks’ Gallery of Regrettable Food.  (http://www.lileks.com/institute/gallery/)

I really need to explore Indian cooking more, because I find the smells and flavors absolutely intoxicating!

 

Leave a Reply

