Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store – Day 266 – Noble Pig! September 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:15 pm
Tags: , ,

I managed to gulp down a boiled egg for breakfast.  All morning, I had been thinking about The new sandwich joint, by John Bates, a former Asti chef.  I have always been a fan of Asti, and sandwiches might be my favorite food, and they tweeted about a 16 hour smoked pork belly BLT.  I scooped up my mom and we were on our way to 620 in Cedar Park.  It was a bit hard to find, located in a strip mall, sort of behind an Exxon.  But, I found it, and I’m glad I did.

Noble Pig Grand Opening

The place is casual, as you might imagine a sandwich place to be – order at the register after reading the chalk board.

Chalk Bord Menu

Upon the Chef’s suggestion, we ordered a Noble Pig sandwich on wheat and the BLT on wheat, with the intention of splitting each.  Both arrived hot, having been griddled, and served with crinkle cut potato chips and jalapeno cole slaw.

Noble Pig BLT

This BLT was perfect.  First of all, the bread is made in house and was extremely fresh, soft, flavorful, but also toasted.  The lettuce and tomato were very fresh, no iceberg here, and the pork belly was delicious.  Great sandwich.  I commented to the chef that the cole slaw was delicious as well, and he gave me the ingredients, which surprised me a bit.  Very simple ingredients, and it sang.  I did not detect any jalapeno however, so no worries about excessive heat.

Next, the Noble Pig – Spicy Ham, Pulled Pork, Provolone and Bacon.

Noble Pig Sandwich

Uhm, yea, so pork three ways and melty cheese.  You can’t really go wrong here, unless you don’t eat pork.    This one also had a mustard component, not too harsh or spicy, just the right amount of heat and tart.  Sandwich win.

I’m anxious to go back and try the Oyster Po Boy, and the Thai Chicken sandwiches.  And I will.

They also make sausages in house.  I purchased some sweet Italian sausage for a cookout tomorrow, and they also had chorizo and a beef sausage.

Sweet Italian Sausage

And because I seem to be displaced in a computer savvy world, where I’m sure I don’t belong, I fell in love with this old scale.  Love it.

Cool Old Scale

The piglet is pretty cute too.

So, after a fabulous lunch, I snacked on cold leftover chicken for dinner.  Uninspired, yes, but I couldn’t top lunch.

Yo, Bill – go, then let me know your thoughts, please.

 

5 Responses to “No Grocery Store – Day 266 – Noble Pig!”

  1. Bill Says:

    Yes mam. Will report.
    Porcine perfection in the hinterlands?
    I’ll be the judge.

  2. Jodi Says:

    Sounds like it’s worth a trip to the burbs! Thanks for the report, Carla!

  3. Very much worth a trip, and I’ll be going back.

  4. Optimista Says:

    Dang! Why is it so far awayyyyy? *whines*

    Must check it out, though. It looks and sounds amazing!


Leave a Reply

