Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Fall Vegetable and Herb Transplants – The Natural Gardener September 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:57 am
Tags: ,

In preparation for installing the Fall Edible Landscape at The Austin Wine Merchant, I made a trip to the Natural Gardener to pick up seeds and transplants.  The shelves are filling up with transplants for Fall.

Fall Vegetable Transplants

Amongst those available, I found Cheddar Cauliflower, several varieties of Broccoli, several varieties of Kale, Chard, Leeks, Multiplying onions, Garlic.

Next up, a trip to the Herb area.

Herbs!

Huge Selection of Herbs

Just about all the herbs varieties are good for Fall, although Basil prefers the heat.  There are lots of varieties of Thyme, Cilantro, Sage, Oregano, Dill, Fennel and Rosemary.  I picked up some of each for the Wine Merchant garden and some for me.

The Natural Gardener has lots of seeds as well, and I picked up several varieties of Lettuce, Kale, Turnips, Beets, Spinach and Arugula, as well as some Thyme.  After shopping, I wandered around the Butterfly Garden on the premises.

Butterfly Bench

Entrance to Butterfly Garden

Butterfly Attracting Plants

And then I checked out the vegetable garden area:

Vegetable Gardens

The Natural Gardener is not only a great resource for everything related to organic gardening, it is a destination shopping experience where one could spend hours watching the chickens, donkeys, touring the gardens, and store.

The Natural Gardener – 8648 Old Bee Caves Road

 

6 Responses to “Fall Vegetable and Herb Transplants – The Natural Gardener”

  1. Shelley Says:

    I meant to get out to NG yesterday but time got away from me. You’ve reinspired me to get busy on fall planting. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for commenting, Shelley. I’m always happy to inspire!

  3. Tony Says:

    Hello, Your site is great I have enjoyed your information and will be implementing them into my weekly gardening and hopefuly my garden will start to look like a garden and not just a cemetry for my plants..lol

  4. chileylimon Says:

    I must have just missed you, we were there on Saturday too. I picked up broccoli, Brussells sprouts (I love them and have never grown them) and regular cauliflower since last year ‘Cheddar’ was a dud. I also got Tuscan kale, bright lights chard, and multicolor beets, leeks, parsnips, carrots, and spinach seeds. Got some cilantro, lemon balm, and calendula for the herb garden and some nasturtium seeds too. I am excited!


Leave a Reply

