Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 258 – Fast Food! September 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:13 am
Tags: ,

Once again, no breakfast.  I’ll try harder, promise.  I went to lunch with my sweet mom, at Galaxy Cafe on West Lynn.  It was a burger day, I won’t lie.  Cheeseburger and sweet potato fries to be exact.  They make the best sweet potato fries.

After a long and extraordinarily frustrating day dealing with Sprint and AT&T (new iPhone is on the way, requiring new service, and Sprint cut off my texting capabilities) I was slightly hungry, with nothing thawed or organized for dinner.  I had intended to go to the Triangle Farmer’s Market, shop and get a bison taco from Taco Deli, but circumstances and the headache that ensued prevented me from leaving the house.

So, I needed something that was quick and easy.  I had some dried pasta from Texas Pasta Company from the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market.  All of my pesto is frozen, so I made a deconstructed pesto from garden basil, garlic, pecans, and Brazos Valley Parmesan.

Deconstructed Pesto

I didn’t want to eat raw garlic, so I sauteed it in olive oil.

garlic, olive oil

I tossed the whole lot together, and viola!  Dinner in 15 minutes, which is less time that it would have taken me to get to a drive through.

Pasta dinner

Slow food.  Fast.

 

Leave a Reply

