Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 256 September 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:40 am
Tags: , ,

Still celebrating “Birthday Month”, I had lunch plans with a friend I’ve known for 30 years.  I know I just dated myself.  Anyhoo, I didn’t manage breakfast but I did get in a 3 mile walk!  It is hard for me to eat soon after exercise and when I’m hot.  For lunch, we met at Apothecary, and I had a very good 1/2 chicken and pepper jack panini and 1/2 salad.  Apothecary has a wide range of panini offerings for lunch, and extra points for having an Antonelli’s Cheese Plate on the menu.  The dinner menu is different, with heartier fare, and shared plates.  I will be back.

For dinner, I still had a Yellow Fin tuna steak from San Miguel Seafood from the farmer’s market on Saturday.  I wasn’t in the mood to make anything complicated, so I seared the tuna in a bit of olive oil, then chopped tomatoes, garlic, and garlic chives and tossed those into a pan to cook down.  The end result, was tuna, with garlic/tomato sauce over arugula.

Seared Yellowfin Tuna with Tomato and garlic

About San Miguel Seafood.  I was asked by a friend if I thought San Miguel Seafood was “safe”, since they are selling out of  coolers.  I have been buying their Gulf fresh seafood for as long as they have been at the market, over a year I think, and it has always been amazingly fresh.  If you have eaten at any of the high end restaurants in town, and ordered seafood, it likely was from San Miguel Seafood, and that includes Wink, Olivia, Perla’s and La Condesa.   In fact, the Anthony Bourdain, No Reservations  show that filmed here recently, shows an interview with the chefs/owners of Perla’s, and Roberto can be seen delivering seafood in the background.  So, I highly recommend San Miguel Seafood, as the freshest seafood in town.

San Miguel Seafood, at the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown, every Saturday

http://sanmiguelseafood.com/links.html

 

Leave a Reply

