Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 255 September 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:40 am
Tags: , ,

I got up early, with every intention of walking at Ladybird Lake at 7:00 a.m.  Then I started lamenting the fact that my weekends are not very relaxed, I’m always up early and running like crazy.  So, I didn’t make it to the trail until 9:00.  It was very warm and even more humid.  I wanted to do the 4.1 mile loop to make up for some birthday splurges, past and in the future (celebrating all month, you know), so I trudged past the Pfluger bridge aiming for Congress.  I stopped for water, then kept on.  Over the long Congress bridge, and turned for what always seems like the home stretch, although its about 2 more miles.  Then I realized I didn’t have my keys.  So I had to backtrack about a mile to get my keys from the water station.  Thankfully, they were still there.  It was a long, humid, hot exhausting walk.

I has two very lovely Yellowfin Tuna fillets from San Miguel Seafood at the farmer’s market on Saturday.  I pulled seasoned one with salt and pepper and olive oil, and baked it – then made tuna salad with homemade pickles and ate that over some Springfield Farms arugula for lunch.  Fresh tuna salad is the best!

For dinner, a friend took me to Justine”s and I ordered the snapper.  They were out of snapper and offered a sea bass replacement with hericot vert, which I ordered, along with an Endive salad with pears and bleu cheese.  The salad was great, but the sea bass was not, and tasted a bit like dishwashing soap.  I tasted my friend’s dish, and it was fine, but nothing spectacular.  Justine’s is certainly a hit or miss for me.  Everyone else enjoyed their meal.  So maybe its just me.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 255”

  1. Optimista Says:

    It is NOT just you. Have you seen my Justine’s review?

    http://bit.ly/2Fk5sV

  2. Yes, I knew about your experience there. Everyone else seems to love it! I don’t get it.


Leave a Reply

