Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 254 – Birthday! September 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:26 am
Tags: , , ,

Day 254 of my No Grocery Store Challenge fell on my birthday.  So, it started with a trip to the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown.  I had not had a chance to visit with Rhonda and Brian, of Springfield Farms in a couple of weeks, and missed them, so I went early to hang out with them.   They are the nicest folks and they have beautiful produce and really nice dried spices.  After visiting and shopping, I headed over to the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market to have lunch with friends.  I have had my eye on the newish burger trailer, Max Parfait for several weeks, and promised the proprietor, Zargun, that I’d be trying a burger soon.  Yesterday was the day.

Max Parfait

We sat outside in the chairs next to the trailer.

Max Parfait Burgers

These burgers and fries have gotten lots of attention in the foodie world, and now I know why.  Because they are perfect!

Perfect Burger and Fries

Homemade bun, high quality meat, perfectly seasoned and cooked, and hot crispy fries.  I also had a Topo Chico.

Max Parfait is located at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market on Saturdays, and the HOPE Farmer’s Market on Sundays.  He is expanding to additional locations soon.  I would like to suggest my driveway.

After some shopping and errands, I headed over to the home of friends, where we ate football food, and watched the UT game.  7 layer dip and chips, and Dai Due Queso Flameado with tortillas from Blanco Valley Farms from  the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market.

Blanco Valley Farms

Blanco Valley Farms is the vendor I’ve been getting the addictive tortillas and tortilla chips from.  Now I know why the chips are so good, they are cooked in Coconut oil!  They also have dips, but the chips are amazing and the corn tortillas are the best I’ve ever had.

 

4 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 254 – Birthday!”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Hope your birthday was fabulous!

  2. Pretty low key, but nice none the less. Still celebrating all month.

  3. Claudia Says:

    Happy birthday month! Mine is October…

  4. I highly suggest that you celebrate all month! And I’ll help – Cafe Josie Happy Hour?


Leave a Reply

