Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 246 September 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:09 am
Tags: , , ,

For breakfast, I had a little of my homemade egg salad.  It is just handy having egg salad around and it is so good.

After a trip out to my favorite store, Callahan’s, part of my “do something fun every day of Birthday month”, I did something else fun – lunch at Whip In.  Whip In is so amazingly cool, part  specialty store, part restaurant, part beer and wine bar.  Dipak, the owner has made a point of selling and serving local products.   You can build your own six pack of beer, and the selection is something else.  I think there are beers that can likely be found no where else in town.  The wine selection is great and prices are highly competitive.  So, for lunch, we split the Naan and an order of the highly recommended Lamb Meatballs, which were well seasoned with 12 Indian spices and served over rice.  The Indian spice blend intrigues me because what the balance of flavor with heat is perfect.  And the lamb was from Loncito’s Lamb.  And had a glass of 512 Brewing One which he has on tap along with the Independence Brewing selection.  And, you can buy a growler of any of them to go.  So cool.

Dinner with my family was a New York strip at Corazon at Castle Hill.  It was fine, but certainly not the best meal I’ve ever had there.  Whip In saved the day.

 

3 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 246”

  1. Krista Says:

    Got spices from the big indian store at http://spicesonline.info
    Now this recipe is on the cards… Yummy

  2. Optimista Says:

    I’ve reallllllly been wanting to try Whip In for ages! And now I have a lamb meatball craving, so it’s been moved up the list.

  3. I want to go back soon, so lets go! I’ve been thinking about it since that day.


Leave a Reply

