Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 241 August 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:35 pm
Tags: ,

Wow, I love to be caught up.  And I ate like a fairly normal person today, I think.    The goal was to eat lots of veggies today, since I have been veggie lazy lately. So:

Breakfast, I cut up some Kocurek Spanish Chorizo, and, sauteed some Johnson’s Backyard Gardens onions in the chorizo renderings, then added chopped peppers, then some farmer’s market tomatoes, then the Vital Farms eggs, then finally the Full Quiver grated pepper jack.  A dollop of Taco Deli Dona green sauce and a single crack tortilla chip from the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market, made for a perfect breakfast/lunch.

Prepping for Migas

Migas

I spent a couple of hours with Ben of Salt and Time at the HOPE Farmer’s Market, and brought home some of his good offerings, 512 pecan Porter Bacon, pickles, pickled okra and some amazing smoked pepper sauce from Johnson’s Backyard Garden Peppers.

For dinner, I raided my freezer and got Dai Due Champagne sausages, sauteed with Boggy Creek sweet peppers and Johnson”s Backyard Garden’s onions.  I topped it all with with a bit of Salt and Time’s amazing pimiento chile sauce.

Dai Due Champagne Sausage and sides

 

4 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 241”

  1. Bill Says:

    I’ve been super busy this summer. But, I always make time in my day to keep up with your adventures. I love your blog! Keep up the good work. I hope to see you soon to catch up & maybe even attend one of the marvelous Kocurek dinners.

  2. Aww, you are sweet. The Kocurek dinner I attended was fabulous, and I’m still trying to walk off that week of 3 six course dinners. Damage. You guys have a fabulous farmer’s market in Cedar Park and I’m so glad for the great response it has gotten!

  3. Optimista Says:

    Both of these meals look delightful! “Veggie lazy”…love that phrase. That’s me, in two words.

  4. Thanks Michelle! I’m trying to be good and eat in more, but I haven’t wanted to heat up the kitchen or grill much in this heat.


Leave a Reply

