Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

New Local Business Confituras has Launched August 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:58 am
Tags: ,

And what a launch it was yesterday at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market.  Confituras is the brainchild of Stephanie, who is a genius with preserves from everything I’ve tasted.  She first tantalized my palate with Ruby Red Grapefruit Preserves a few months ago that blew me away, even though I’m not a huge grapefruit fan.  It was different than anything I’d ever tasted.  Next, she gave me some of her soon to be famous Pickled Blues, which at first blush, sounded odd to me.  Pickled blueberries?  OK, I’ll try them.  These were so amazing, despite having no bread, crackers or other vessel to eat them on, I downed quite a few with a spoon.  Knowing that the blueberry season was ending, I immediately ordered 5 jars and intend to be very stingy with them.  They would be beautiful on a chevre or brie.  I picked them up yesterday at her first day at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market, where she came loaded for bear, and left with almost no inventory.  I also came home with Hill Country Lavender Peach Butter, and Fig Preserves.  I’m already thinking about Christmas gifts and intend to start hoarding for that purpose immediately.

Confituras

Blueberry Basil Preserves

Lavender Peach Butter

Confituras will be at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market every Saturday.  Since everything is prepared using local and seasonal ingredients, the offerings will change according to what is in season.  You can sign up for a weekly email which will provide a list of what will be available each week.  And, I suggest you get to the market early because the word is out!

http://www.confituras.net

 

7 Responses to “New Local Business Confituras has Launched”

  1. thecosmiccowgirl Says:

    wow, we were just stunned at our near sell-out day at the farmer’s market! we can’t thank carla enough for all her support and for coming out early to help us set up–she’s a saint!

  2. Happy to do it Stephanie. Nothing makes me happier than seeing good people do well, especially when those good people are my dear friends. You knocked it out of the park! I’m spreading the love around, which is hard, because I hate to part with any of your goodies. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  3. Jodi Says:

    I was so happy to hear about Stephanie’s successful day at the market. Go confituras!

  4. chileylimon Says:

    Steph brought me a jar of gorgeous prickly pear jelly to the Hot Sauce Festival (we both are masochistic preliminary judges). Everybody at the table thought that it was a sauce from the contest and wanted to taste it. I felt bad so I opened it and everyone loved it. The taste is so fresh, like eating tunas but without the seeds. Hands down, the best prickly pear product I have had outside of Mexico! Charcuterie and cheese plate? Hell yeah. Can’t wait to try the Pickled Blues!

  5. Yep, she has a way with those preserves. I’ll be hoarding her stuff now and the Pickled Blues are crazy delicious! Would be fabulous over Pure Luck plain chevre.

  6. […] other like-minded folks to do the same, and in the press i have received thus far: first this lovely blog, then this one, then this other one. then edible austin got a piece of me, then our local […]


Leave a Reply

