Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 239 August 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:00 am

After a 4.1 mile walk early in the day, I thought I’d be good and eat some breakfast, so I had 2 Vital Farms eggs, boiled.  For lunch, my business partner brought over some chicken salad and Sweetish Hill bread for sandwiches.  I skipped the bread and had some chicken salad and part of a pickle.  Dinner out for family night was at Mirabelle, and I had a ceasar salad and the beef tenderloin with extra vegetable, and no potatoes.

When I heard that my business partner was stopping at Fresh Plus for chicken salad, I had quite a twinge of nostalgia.  I have been going to Fresh Plus on West Lynn for as long as I can remember.  It is on my way home from downtown, and is also close to my house.  I have always preferred it to the larger stores, to just pop in and grab what I need.  The deli makes the best sandwiches and the store does a good job of carrying local cheeses, salsas and the like.  Of all the grocery stores I used to frequent, this neighborhood gem is the only one I really miss.

 

Leave a Reply

