Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 237 August 25, 2010

This was really not my favorite food day.  I’m still attempting to eat my way through my early “no grocery store” days of hoarding.  So I pulled from the freezer, a grass fed beef filet  from J-5 Farms.  I think that is right.  I got it from the now defunct Truck Farm Farmer’s Market.  I also pulled out some Kocurek Spanish Chorizo which I had frozen.

Breakfast, was 1 scrambled Vital Farm egg.

Lunch was really a couple of small snacks throughout the afternoon, of bites of the Kocurek Chorizo and Full Quiver raw cheddar.

I went to Boggy Creek Farm, specifically to pick up some of their end of season tomatoes.  All they had left were some very smallish Sungold Cherry Tomatoes.  As the season winds to the end, all tomatoes get smaller.  These were pretty tiny, so I bought 2 tubs.  My master plan, came from a conversation with Lee Ann Kocurek, about roasting tomatoes with olive oil, for salad dressing.  So, I commenced that process:

Roasting Sungolds

I fired up the Big Green Egg, and then quartered an onion which I drenched in olive oil.  Then I seasoned the steak and put that on.  Before dinner was even cooked, I’d lost interest in it, not sure why.

The final plate, would make Gordon Ramsay throw something.  The steak looks fine, the emulsified sungolds with olive oil look like baby food, (carrots, perhaps?) and weren’t the revelation I’d imagined.   The salad, was from gifted Bella Verdi lettuce, a farmer’s market tomato and Texas Olive Ranch olive oil and fig balsamic.  Bah.  This meal seems to be a direct reflection of my mood today.  Things (like people) just don’t seem to turn out as I’d hoped.  Oh well, there is always tomorrow.

Tasted slightly better than it looks

Oh yeah.  I now know that I don’t like the flavor of Sungold Tomatoes.  Not their fault.

 

4 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 237”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Aww, I hope you’re feeling better now, Friend! I actually think that steak looks pretty good. Juicy.

  2. Bill Says:

    Looks beautiful to me!

    • Bill!!!!! Where have you been? I’ve missed you! Now that you have the most amazing farmer’s market ever, you’ve abandoned me. I’m going to have to get into trouble, get arrested, and give you a call just to catch up.


Leave a Reply

