Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Food Blogger Potluck Baby Shower August 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 4:49 pm
Tags: , , ,

Food Blogger Potluck Baby Shower sounds like too much going on, even as I type it.   It was a really good idea, though and I can’t take credit for thinking of it.  That would be because my friend Kristi conceived of it.  The food blogging Facebook Group, led by our “patron saint” Addie Broyles, has been meeting for potlucks for months.  Addie just happens to be expecting her second child next month, so the Food Blogger Potluck Baby Shower came to be, and I was fortunate enough to host it.  With 50 confirmed attendees and 20 something maybe’s, I was concerned about space for potluck dishes and bodies in my humble abode.  Everything went off without a hitch (as far as I know) and a good time was had by all.  As a special treat, Christian,  brought over his brand spanking new wood burning Pizza Oven, and launched Bola Pizza right before our eyes.

Bola Pizza Mobile Wood Burning Oven

The oven was brought over the day before, and fired the night before for optimum heat retention.

After the first bites of pizza were consumed, people started positioning themselves in Christian’s path from oven to kitchen, and very little pizza made it into the kitchen.  While I was fortunate enough to grab a slice here and there, I didn’t even try to get between the people and the pizza to take pictures.    Actually, I got very few pictures of the whole event, because it was a packed house and it just wasn’t feasible.  There were people, presents, and food everywhere.

One gorgeous dish, was the first to arrive:

Breakfast Bundt

There were some cocktails and wine:

Local Bloody Mary's

The Opal Divine Bloody Mary mix was amazingly good, very fresh tasting, perfectly seasoned and a winner all around.  Kristi brought this with Dripping Springs vodka and pickled okra from the farmer’s market.

The food kept arriving until the tables in 3 rooms were full.

Yummy treats

Local Chorizo Stuffed Peppers

I was quite proud of my friend and constant garden helper Jim, for picking up all the ingredients from the Longview Farmer’s Market to make these local stuffed peppers, driving back for the party, making these before helping out all day.  They were great!

All in all, I think it was a great party; but what can you expect when you get 50 or so food bloggers together?  My only regret is that I didn’t get more pictures of the amazing food.

 

15 Responses to “Food Blogger Potluck Baby Shower”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Thanks so much for hosting the shower/potluck! I was so sorry to have missed it (the one freak time I have to work at 11 a.m. on a Sunday in a normally 9-5 kinda job), but my boyfriend Luke went and loved it and said your home was lovely. So bummed to have missed the pizza!

  2. Jodi Says:

    Thank you for hosting in your gorgeous home. You are such a gracious and welcoming woman and it was a pleasure to be there!

  3. Baby Games Says:

    wow.. at first I have seen your foods I felt hungry.. because its looks very delicious.. Yummy…

    Best regards
    Mickey Buarao

  4. I’m so impressed you were able to take as many photos as you did AND host. I hardly had a chance to say hello to everyone, must less eat, so I didn’t end up with any photos of those delicious dishes.

    Thanks so much for hosting the shower! It really means a lot…

  5. Megan Says:

    It was so hard to get photos once the people (and food) started packing in!
    Thank you for hosting the party. You are humble for calling your home humble! It’s gorgeous!

  6. Thanks Megan, I’m glad you came. The party did get a little hectic, didn’t it? I’m not sure I’ve ever had that many people in my house!

  7. Carla Oldenkamp Says:

    The Breakfast Bundt looks absolutely delish! Would you mind sharing the recipe with me if it is available? Thanks ~ Carla

  8. Hey Carla, I will see if I can get that recipe. I’d like to have it too!

    • Kristina Nichols-Wolter August 18 at 9:56am
      SW Breakfast Bundt
      2 cans of refrigerator biscuits (any kind will do flaky- buttermilk etc.)
      2 cups shredded cheese (any flavor I used taco seasoned)
      2 cups of cooked breakfast meat (I used turkey sausage)
      1 carton of egg beaters (I used southwestern egg beaters)

      Preheat oven to 350
      spray a bundt pan
      layer first can of biscuits in pan-then meat-cheese-and second can of biscuits- pour egg beaters equally around the top so that it soaks in. Bake for 35-45 min checking with a tooth pick until it comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes invert on plate. I usually serve with a white gravy or cheese sauce on top to simulate the “glaze” on a bundt cake. I did not at your house because I was not sure how long it would be sitting out.
      Someday I will tell you the funny story of how this recipe came about. too much too write, and don’t want to wear out my welcome lol!
      Enjoy this is an easy one to mix up the flavors too. K

  9. Kristina W Says:

    Carla your home was absolutely lovely and warm (and I don’t mean that in the Texas 3 digit way) Thank you so much for taking the time to give me a quick tour of your garden and home before everyone came in. It never ceases to amaze me the creativity and delicious dishes that come from one of the coolest groups in Austin! What an honor to be amongst y’all.

    • Thanks Kristina! I’m glad to finally meet you, after having been the 3rd party beneficiary of your meyer lemons. Christian made preserved lemons with them and gave me a jar, and I still use them frequently. I’m glad you came and thanks again for that recipe! Hope to see you soon.


Leave a Reply

