Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 215 and FINO Chef’s Table August 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:10 am
Tags: ,

Day 215 of my No Grocery Store Challenge, was also the day of my friend Kristi‘s birthday celebration dinner at FINO.

For breakfast, a Bat Creek Farm gala apple.  Doing great so far.  For lunch, I wanted a salad, and since I’m without lettuce now that Bella Verdi Farms has started selling exclusively at grocery stores, from what I can tell, I decided on Cafe Josie for the salmon salad.  For some reason, I ordered red snapper tacos instead.  They were perfect as always, but with a 6 course tasting menu in my immediate future, I should have skipped lunch altogether.

So, on to an amazing Chef’s tasting menu dinner at Fino, with wine and cocktail parings.

Course 1 – Gulf Prawns & Cilantro-tomato Charmoula; Blistered Padron Peppers  Smoked Sea Salt; Grilled Pork Pinchito Skewers.  These were brought to the table family style.

Course 2 – Tomato Gazpacho, with cucumber, sherry and garlic croutons

Course 3 – Frisee with Almond Romesco, manchego and garlic croutons

Course 4 – Richardson Farms Pork Belly Montadito, with quince mustard

Course 5 – FINO Paella, bomba rice with mussels, calamari and prawns, peas, peppers & lemon aioli

Mixed Grill – grilled lamb t-bones, sirloins of grass-fed beef, housemade chorizo and merguez sausages

Spicy Patatas Bravas and aioli

Course 6 – Gianduja Chocolate Semifreddo, Goat Cheescake and figs, Spice Cake and Medjool Dates, Yogurt Panna Cotta

As usual with these multi-course dinners, I’m out long before the final course arrives.  FINO pulled out all the stops here and everything I had was fantastic.  I didn’t eat much from the mixed grill and skipped dessert.  My camera battery died early on, but I did get some pictures and will try to add them once my camera is back up and running.

I highly recommend the Chef’s Table Dinners at FINO for an exceptional dining experience, with especially personal service.

 

Leave a Reply

