Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 213 and 214 August 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:39 am
Tags: , , , ,

Breakfast Scramble

Day 213, I broke out my new induction cooktop and made a breakfast scramble with garden onions, peppers, tomatoes, Smith and Smith Farm Eggs, Dai Due Chorizo, and topped it all with some Full Quiver Chedder.  It was a hearty breakfast and lunch, and fueled me for working in the garden for hours.

For dinner, I had leftover short ribs and rice from Saturday.

Day 214, for breakfast I had a gala apple from the SFC Farmer’s Market.  I believe it was from Bat Creek Farms, in Bertram.  For lunch, mom and I went to 34th Street Cafe and I had a hacked salad with shrimp.  For dinner, I had breakfast tacos: Smith and Smith Farms eggs, garden peppers and tomatoes, Full Quiver Cheddar on 2 blue corn tortillas from the vendor at the  SFC Farmer’s Market downtown who sells organically made tamales.  I can’t remember the vendor’s name, but they were good!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Days 213 and 214”

  1. Jodi Says:

    When are you going to get some chicks so I can come over for a farm-fresh omlette a la Carla?

    • I would love chickens, but the way my back yard is configured, they’d have to live in the garden or the greenhouse to be within city ordinances. I’ll have them some day though, as well as a tractor, a barn, horses, and a ranch. You guys can come out and play ranch fantasy with me and we’ll make farm fresh omlettes a la Carla!


Leave a Reply

