Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 210 July 30, 2010

Breakfast, 2 Smith and Smith Farms eggs, boiled.  I’m really trying to be better about eating breakfast.

Lunch, I needed to spend some time with  my Mom and go to Antonelli’s Cheese, so I decided to go to Asti Tratorria, and watch Brad Sorenson cook.  Brad is a finalist in The Next Food Network Star this season and is as cute as can be.  I’m rooting for him to win.  He wasn’t there, but we had a nice lunch anyway, splitting the Chicken Panini and a White Pizza.   Asti does a good job at sourcing much of its menu locally.

If you haven’t made a trip to Hyde Park to visit Antonelli’s Cheese Shop, please do yourself a favor and go.  Just do, and thank me later.  John and Kendall have something really special going there, and their passion for everything in the shop is infectious.  They had ordered some wine for me, my new favorite wine actually – Carina Cellars Clairvoyant.  Its a blend from the Central Coast of California, and it rocks.  I also picked up some Brazos Valley Parmesan Cheese, for making pesto this weekend.  The basil is big and lush and the heat is coming on strong so now is the time to harvest quite a bit of it.  We filled a bag of goodies for my parents, some really great cheeses, the strawberry jam they love, Barrie Cullinan’s amazing Ciabatta, some chocolate, Hope and Glory’s Brown Butter Shortcakes, and called it a successful trip to the cheese shop.

As boring as leftovers are, the Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken I made was so good, I couldn’t wait to have more of it.  So, dinner, leftover chicken, leftover rice and cucumber salad.  I’m getting quite sick of cucumbers and garden is full of them.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 210”

  1. Claudia Says:

    Hey, happy to take some of those cucumbers off your hands. Let me know if OK, I’ll come over! Mine produced 4 before giving up the ghost to mold and aphids. I planted Persian baby “Green Fingers” today, they were recommended at the NG. Also scarlet runner beans and 3 kinds of tomatoes and one eggplant for good measure. Only 5 corn sprouted from my last seeding (dogs to blame, likely) so I am seeding some more tomorrow morning. Looking for organic potatoes to plant, can you believe Central Market has none???

  2. Let me know when you want to come pick cucumbers. I have a couple of transplants too, if we can figure out which ones they are. They look just like butternut squash transplants. I just bought organic fingerling potatoes from Johnson’s Backyard Garden, and I’m going to plant those.


Leave a Reply

