Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Planting Guide for August, Zone 8 Austin July 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:48 am
Tags: , , ,

Lima Beans – first two weeks of August

Snap Beans

Beets – last two weeks of August

Broccoli

Carrots

Cauliflower

Chard

Chinese Cabbage

Sweet Corn

Cucumbers

Collards – last two weeks of August

Fennel – First two weeks of August

Garlic

Kale

Okra – first two weeks of August

Endive – last two weeks of August

Black-eye peas – first two weeks of August

Popatoes

Rutabaga

Shallots

New Zealand Spinach – first two weeks of August

Summer squash – first two weeks of August

Winter Squash – first two weeks of August

Head lettuce – last two weeks of August

Leaf lettuce – last two weeks of August

Mustard – last two weeks of August

You could probably get away with planting tomato transplants here in the next week, but you would be pushing the envelope on having green tomatoes when it gets cold.   Look for varieties with a shorter “days to maturity” date and cherry tomato varieties.

 

2 Responses to “Planting Guide for August, Zone 8 Austin”

  1. Claudia Says:

    Hi Carla!
    Hope the garden is going well. We’re looking to our first weekend in the 100s just as I set my tomato transplants…ugh. Do you have any lemon cuke starters by any chance? Since you’ve been so successful I’d like to try them out. I never have. Lemme know!

    • I think I still have some lemon cucumber seeds. Lemme check when I get home. I’m buying seeds today so if I don’t have any, I’ll pick some up for you. I’m bummed about the heat too. Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

