Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 208 and 209 July 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:27 am
Tags: , , ,

Again no breakfast.  I was admonished by a friend last night for being so bad about breakfast, so as I sit here catching up my posts, there are 2 Smith and Smith Farms eggs boiling for breakfast.  Lunch with my mom was a salad, and I’ve forgotten where.  Then some friends and I went to Cafe Josie’s first Happy Hour, and had some snacks, goat cheese, sweet potato fries, and calamari.  For a snack later I had a couple of leftover Richardson Farms ribs.

Day 209, no breakfast but I was hungry if that means anything.  Lunch with mom again, I had trout and green beans at Roaring Fork.  I had some cheese and olives at Happy Hour at Vino Vino, with you guessed it, some vino.  With my new exciting spices, I made a lovely dinner of roasted chicken, from Dewberry Hill Farms, rubbed down with Way Back When butter and covered in Smoked Paprika.  I had that with some Lowell Farms rice and a salad with the lettuce my friend Kristi brought me from her CSA box.  Those Penzy’s spices are going to change the way I eat from now on, and I’m so happy to have them.

Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken

About buying chicken from local farms:  I originally thought that these chickens were very expensive.  I paid $18.00 for a huge one from Richardson Farms.  This one, from Dewberry Hills Farm was about $11.o0 and weighed less than 4 pounds.  3.75 I think.  I don’t know what they cost at the grocery store, but these free range, all natural chickens are $3.50 to $4.50 a pound.  I will get at least 4 meals from this chicken, so for $11.00, that’s a good deal.

Exciting News!  I signed up for Adult Farm Camp at Green Gate Farms in October.  It is a 4 week session, and we will learn about growing crops on a large scale, composting, caring and tending to Heritage animals, and hopefully I’ll get to work the tractor.

Not so exciting news, my mom called me last night to let me know where they want to go to dinner on Friday Night, out weekly ritual.  Red Lobster.  I think not.  I’ve got to figure out a better alternative.  I’m thinking Quality Seafood.

 

Leave a Reply

