Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 207 July 27, 2010

Compared to the extravaganza of eating out last week, this week is comfortingly calm, if not downright boring.  I walked at Town Lake yesterday, leaving not enough time for breakfast, although I was hungry.  Lunch on the go, was a lemon cucumber from the garden, with salt and pepper.  Afternoon snack at a friend’s house, tortilla chips and salsa with a Tecate.  Someone asked me in the last week, “where do you get your chips, like Fritos and Lays?”  Uhmm, I don’t eat those anymore, unless I’m at someone’s house, and even then, I avoid them.  For the most part, with the exception of bread and cheese, everything I eat at home is in the form it grew in.   I guess sausage and bacon and some of Dai Due and Kocurek’s prepared food isn’t, but everything they use to create their sausage and prepared food  is from a local farm.  The point is, I guess, nothing I eat has artificial crap in it to make it shelf stable, because it will never be on a shelf.  No guar gum, no high fructose corn syrup, no partially hydrogenated oils.  And nothing that I eat has elaborate packaging.  If I buy a steak from Richardson’s, there is no sytrofoam tray underneath, it is simply shrink wrapped and handed to me from an ice chest.  Don’t get me wrong, the Tortilla Chips and Salsa were a treat, and I’m reserving the right to head to East Austin to El Milagro and get some of theirs which contain only corn, oil and salt, because they aren’t a grocery store, I just haven’t felt compelled to do so just yet.  I also have not had a Soda, a Diet Soda, or any artificial canned drink in these almost 7 months.  I drink Nile Valley Hibiscus Tea from the Farmer’s Market, water, and if I’m feeling like a treat, I have a Topo Chico which I have leftover from a party.  I got that at Spec’s.  I drink beer and wine as well, just no soda.

I got home late, so dinner was re-heated leftover, bison burger patty, with a garden tomato, and lemon cucumber salad with Wateroak Feta.  I’m getting tired of these cucumbers, have jars picking at a friends house, and more on the ground ready to pick.

 

Leave a Reply

