Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 201 July 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:45 am
Tags: ,

Once again, I didn’t eat breakfast.  For lunch, knowing that I was going to have a big dinner, I had a lemon cucumber from the garden, with salt and pepper.  I’ll be eating these for a while, as there are about 10 in the garden right now.  I need to pickle some more.

For dinner, I was invited by my friend Michelle to attend a food blogger function at Kenichi.  It was a 6 course dinner with sake pairings.  I had never been to Kenichi, but always wanted to go, and I’m glad I did.

First course was red snapper salad, with pine nuts, orange supreme, shishito peppers, sunflower sprouts and confetti sauce.  This was a good light start to the meal.

Next up was seared sea scallops, with sweet pickled daikon, candied ginger, peanut butter miso.  These were very good and the peanut butter miso was a surprising twist that I liked a lot.

Third course was sansho escolar, peppercorn crusted waru in a lemon-truffle sauce over sauteed portabellas and japanese peppercorns.  I loved this dish and the sake paired with, which was unfiltered, “Voices in the Mist” Ginjo Nigori.

Fourth dish was tuna and miso fois gras with pear, crispy garlic, truffled ponzu and “Devil’s Mask” Junmai Yamahai saki, my favorite sake so far.  This was a near perfect bite of food, with just the right amount of fois.

Next was temary sushi, yellowtail belly, orange mustard sauce, scallions and red shiso.  It was very good.  The “Tanuki’s Magic” Junmai Daiginjo sake was outstanding.

Probably my favorite dish of the evening was japanese steak and eggs, akaushi, poached quail egg, king oyster mushrooms, and kizame wasabi.  This akaushi beef was crazy good, Japanese beef raised in Yoakum, Texas.  I did not care for the “Wings of Fortune” Junmai Ginjo Nama sake.

Dessert was green tea tiramisu which was fine, but I’m not much for dessert.  It was paired with “Zipang” Sparkling Sake which was very interesting and light.

This was a very impressive event, and I was blown away by the food.  It was fun expanding my food horizons somewhat to a cuisine that I’m not as familiar with.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 201”

  1. Carla Oldenkamp Says:

    With friends like Michelle and food like Kenichi (my first intro. to sushi was there w/ Raina & Walt), who needs a grocery store? Since my first experience at Kenichi’s, sushi has become one of my favorite meals. And…. I’m finally getting pretty good at using the chop sticks 🙂

    Have a great day Carla!


Leave a Reply

