Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Planting Seeds – Lettuce July 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:54 am
Tags: , ,

Lately it seems that everything I’ve planted from seed, just sprouted up in a couple of days.  No complaints from me, but it seems so quick.  I’ve been out of lettuce and Bella Verdi wasn’t at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, so I decided to plant some Black Seeded Simpson (my favorite) lettuce seeds in two pots and put them in partial shade.  It is normally too hot for lettuce in July, but with all the rain, and cooler days here and there,  I figured I’d take a chance.  I planted these seeds on Sunday.

Black Seeded Simpson Lettuce

Since lettuces can be eaten at different stages of growth, I might have baby lettuce by next week!  Lettuce is a very rewarding vegetable to grow, because you just take the collander out to the garden or pot and snip off the amount you need for any given meal.  I will reseed all winter and Spring for a continual supply of lettuces.

 

Leave a Reply

