Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 180 July 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:56 am
Tags: , , , ,

The 180th day seems like it should be a milestone for some reason.  But, its just nearly half way.  I started to wonder yesterday, why I continue to keep track anymore, because after the 1 year mark, I don’t see myself running to Whole Foods or Central Market on any regular basis.  I guess at some point it will be nice to look back and see what I’ve learned, and how I dealt with certain obstacles.

Tuesday, I received the Dai Due weekly email of their product offerings available at this coming SFC Farmer’s Market on Saturday.  Some of the hot food available was Axis Deer Chili.  That sounded so good in this rainy, not quite coolish weather and I remembered that I had Axis Deer in the freezer.  Earlier in the year, a friend, upon learning of my Eat Local Challenge, brought me 7 pounds of various types of meat that he shot on the King Ranch.  Axis Deer, Nilgai, Antelope.

Gifted Axis Deer

So, I headed over to Boggy Creek Farm in the morning and bought some huge heirloom tomatoes, a jar of Larry’s Fire Roasted Tomatoes, and some Sand Creek Farm Monterrey Jack.

Larry's Fire Roasted Tomatoes - Boggy Creek Farm

I had a Ceasar Salad with chicken for lunch at Cipollina Bistro, while the Deer thawed.

For the chili, I sauteed my garden onions and farmer’s market garlic in Texas Olive Oil.  I browned the deer meat in another pan and seasoned with cumin I had in the pantry and chili powder I borrowed from a friend.  (Sorry Christian, it will be approximately 6 months until I can pay you back.)  I cut up the whole tomatoes and sauteed them down until I could pull out their skins.  Then I combined everything in a pot, with 2 bay leafs and oregano from my garden, and let it simmer for 3.5 hours.  When the chili seasons were integrated and the deer was tender, I had a bowl, with a bit of the San Creek Monterrey Jack on top.  It was very satisfying on a rainy night.

All local Axis Deer Chili

If memory serves, the last time I made chili, was well over a year ago, and I used Wick Fowler’s 3 Alarm Chili Mix from a box, canned tomatoes, canned tomato sauce, and grocery store chili meat.  I’m thinking this is a real improvement, and it tasted so much better.

For a moment, I wished that I had some Nabisco Premium Saltine Crackers, to crumble on top of my bowl of chili, which is how I grew up eating it.  You know, the white crackers?  I looked up the ingredient list to see what I was missing.  Nothing I’d really want to eat.

Ingredients: ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), FOLIC ACID), SOYBEAN OIL, SALT, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, BAKING SODA, VEGETABLE MONOGLYCERIDES (EMULSIFIER).

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 180”

  1. Kristi Says:

    I am so proud of you for making it 180 days! You are an inspiration to all of us who are trying to eat locally more often and be less dependent on the grocery store.

  2. Aw, thanks Kristi! You’ll be pleased to know I’m trying to eat everything in my freezer as well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

