Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Planting Guide for July June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:45 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

July is the month to start sowing seeds for the Fall Garden.  It isn’t quite time  yet to plant cooler weather crops like lettuce, Kale, cabbage, endive,  mustard, collards and potatoes, so save some room in your garden for planting those things in August.  Keep in mind the days to maturity of these thing for planning purposes.

All month:                   Days to Maturity

Herbs:

Basil, oregano, thyme

Veggies and Fruit:

Chard                             50-55

Sweet corn                  80-100

Cucumbers                  60-65

Eggplant                        75-90

Okra                                 55-60

Black-eyed peas          60-70

Peppers                           65-80

Pumpkin                         90-160 (depending on variety and size)

New Zealand Spinach 65-75

Summer Squash          50-55

Winter Squash              85-90

Tomato Plants*            70-85

Watermelon                  80-90

After July 15:

Lima Beans                    65-75

Snap Beans                    50-75

Canteloupe                     80-90

Carrots                             70-80

Cauliflower                     55-60

Fennel                              90-100

I was at Natural Gardener yesterday, and they said they thought they’d start receiving tomato transplants in late July.  In my experience, the cherry varieties withstand the heat and produce better than the full sized tomatoes, although my Celebrities are hanging tough right now.  I’m currently having the best luck with the Chocolate Cherry Tomatoes, which is the only Cherry variety I planted in Spring.  Last Fall, the Large Red Cherry variety did quite well.

I’m also having lots of luck with the Lemon Cucumbers and love them!  I found Seeds of Change Lemon Cucumber seeds at Natural Gardener yesterday.

 

5 Responses to “Planting Guide for July”

  1. chileylimon Says:

    Hey Carla!
    The rain has inspired me too and I am glad it’s not too late for corn. I too have the bicolor seeds which I will plant this evening, as well as some icebox watermelons. I’ve never grown corn, so if you have any tips I would be grateful. I have wanted to do the “3 sisters” garden, which in Mexico we call milpa, for a long time. I wish I still had time for tomatillos, what do you think?
    Garden hugs,
    CA

    • Hey Claudia! I’m not sure if my first corn has been a success or not, as I haven’t checked the ears. They seemed to quit growing a week or so ago. Full sun, it likes nitrogen, and you need to put mineral oil on the silks to deter the corn worms, is the advice I have. I am a tomatillo failure, but why not? I’m going to research that one. Glad to hear from you!

  2. Optimista Says:

    Just curious…what is the theory behind planting certain things after 7/15? Is it so that they’ll mature when it is supposedly cooler?

    I was on a gardening tear a couple of weeks ago and popped a few of the lima bean seeds you gave me into a planter. Since my timing was obviously off, what will happen to them? They sprouted up within a few days.

    Final question: do I pull up the tomato plants that I already have and plant new ones for July?

    • Michelle, its all recommendations from the Travis County Ag. Extension office, and not set in stone. Leave your lima beans in and lets see how they do. I push the envelope of the guidelines all the time. There will be new tomato transplants arriving at the nurseries starting at the end of the month. If your plants are still producing and looking good, just keep them in. If they are browning and the tomato crop seems diminished (tomatoes get smaller and less tasty) replace them. Cherry tomatoes do best in heat, in my experience. Celebrities are good too. I’ve got lots of Chocolate Cherries coming your way with your pesto. Are you home this evening?

      • Optimista Says:

        Aww, crap; I forgot to check the “e-mail me when there’s a response” button when I posted here and JUST saw this. I’ve had 9 members of my extended family in town since the 1st and have been entertaining them pretty much non-stop.

        The limas seem to be doing fine and are maybe a foot tall right now. As for the two tomato plants, one was very promising and had quite a few baby tomatoes on it, then it broke off, although the portion that’s left is still growing. The other flowered like mad, but only set maybe 4-5 actual tomatoes. I planted it late, so I assumed it was because it was too hot for the fruit to set. Both plants are green and huge, but unproven…and I’m not sure whether that’s gardener’s error or plant fail.

        BTW, Chris cut down that bush. At some point after my relatives leave, we’ll have to have you over for a consultation!


Leave a Reply

