Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 179 June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

Good eat in day, especially due to the rain.  Breakfast, 1 scrambled Richardson Farms egg.  Lunch, salad of farmer’s market lettuce (ran out!), 2 boiled eggs, 1 piece Kocurek bacon, garden tomatoes, and a dressing made by blending Wateroak garlic and herb Feta with Wateroak goat milk.  For-the-win.  I had myself an afternoon of cooking and planting, which was a great way to spend a rainy day.  I harvested lots of basil and made pesto.

cleaned basil for pesto

MMM Pesto

Garden basil, Texas Olive Ranch Olive Oil, Farmer’s Market garlic, Brazos Valley Parmesan, my pecans.  Cuz that’s how I roll.

Then I attempted to make mozzarella with Way Back When Diary milk.  By the dang book, and it never came together.  First cheese failure.  Boo.

The whole time I was rocking at pesto, and failing at cheese, I had Richardson Farms pork ribs in the oven on 250.  And that’s what I had for dinner.  Just ribs.

I paid Antonelli’s Cheese a visit earlier this afternoon to pick up my parmesan, and also got some Pure Luck June’s Joy which is amazing and Barrie Cullinan’s bread, which I stuck in the freezer when I remembered my “no wheat for a while” deal.  I also got some Salt and Time salami, which I knoshed in the car on the way home.  Not all of it, but I could have.  This is an exciting time to be in Austin if you like amazing local food.

 

Leave a Reply

