Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 166 June 17, 2010

Yesterday was all about tomatoes.  Everything I ate, was just a vessel for them.  I went to the new Wednesday Farmstand at Springdale Farms, (on Springdale Road) just East of Downtown off of 7th Street.  I had tasted their glorious tomatoes at the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown last Saturday on Dai Due’s BLT, and I wanted more of that yummy goodness.  I bought lots of their amazing tomatoes.  So for lunch, I made a sandwich on TFB Boule, with my garden pesto, fat slices of Springdale tomato, and Full Quiver raw milk cheddar.  I stuck this under the broiler to melt the cheese and toast the bread and it was delicious.

For dinner, a BLAT on another piece of TFB Boule, with Kocurek bacon, Springdale Farm tomato, either Tecolote Farm or Amador Farm lettuce, (can’t remember!) and part of a gifted avocado.   The BLAT to me, is the perfect sandwich, creamy avocado, crunchy, salty bacon, juicy tomato and crunchy lettuce.  What more could anyone want?

 

Leave a Reply

