Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Corn Update and Cucumber Takeover June 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:35 am
Tags: , ,

Corn!

The corn is looking like actual corn.  The silks appeared first, soon after the tassels.  It seems to almost double every day.  I stare at it a lot, being a first time corn grower and all.

On a different note, the lemon cucumbers are taking over the yard.  They have taken over their end of the garden and have creeped over and out of the raised bed.  They struggle during the heat of the day, almost collapsing in a dramatic manner, then perk up as it cools off.  I’m hoping for enough cucumbers to pickle using Ruhlman’s recipe.

Cucumbers

 

6 Responses to “Corn Update and Cucumber Takeover”

  1. Mary Ellen Says:

    I’m a first time corn grower too. I planted mine in a 4′ x 4′ block hoping it will pollinate. Right now the plants are only about 12-inches tall. I stare at it a lot too!

  2. Marc O. Says:

    That’s exciting and encouraging about the corn.

    I have some form of cucumber or other squash volunteering in the midst of a bed of natives. I wish it hadn’t chosen where it did, but I’m going to nurture it to see what happens.

  3. Barbara Says:

    I don’t know who you are, but I laughed out loud at your comment to Lisa on her pickled cherry post!

    And….I’ll be posting a couple cucumber recipes in the coming weeks.


Leave a Reply

