Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 160 and 161 June 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:58 pm
Tags: , , ,

Day 160 – for breakfast I had raspberries from the Triangle Market.  For lunch, I had leftover chicken with some baby arugula and garden tomatoes.  Dinner was leftover bison, made into a taco salad, and more leftover chicken.  Boring.    This is one of the things I miss about grocery store convenience – this whole chicken deal.  I don’t enjoy breaking down a chicken.  So I cook the whole thing, then just have lots of leftovers.  There is one vendor at a market I don’t go to that I think sells chicken cut up, so I can’t feel too sorry for myself.

Day 161 – Friday.  Raspberries for breakfast.  For lunch, I stopped at Fete Acompli and had one of the best chicken salad sandwiches I’ve ever had.  She sources locally, has a booth at the SFC Market at Republic Square, and makes amazing food.  The chicken salad had nuts and basil in it.  I also got some egg salad made with local eggs.  Amazing.  I had a very impressive dinner at Eddie V’s with my parents.  The hostess remembered us by name, which surprised me.  I was flattered and impressed.  They sat us in a different section than where we normally sit, and when I told the server I was cold, he brought out wraps for mom and me.  The table next to was was wrapped up too.  That is impeccable service.  I had the beef tenderloin “carpetbag” with fried oysters and bernaise and a salad.

 

Leave a Reply

