Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 157 and 158 June 9, 2010

Day 157, Monday, for breakfast one slice of Kocurek Czech bacon.  For lunch, a salad with Bella Verdi Bibb lettuce, garden tomatoes and Terra Verde olive oil and basalmic.  I had picked two Ancho chile peppers Monday afternoon, so for dinner I sauteed some ground Thunderheart Bison, with my garden jalapenos, garden onions and tomatoes, and some cumin and red pepper flakes, and had stuffed ancho chilis, topped with Veldhuizen cheddar.

Day 158, for breakfast, one slice of Kocurek Czech bacon.  I had my lunch prepared by one of the candidates for The Next Food Network Star, Brad Sorenson, who is a chef at ASTI Trattoria, in Hyde Park.  I had the roasted chicken BLT.  The chicken came from Dewberry Farms.    I couldn’t help but wonder if Brad will ultimately be the winner of the show, and has to live with that knowledge until it can be revealed.   That would be hard, either way.  ASTI and FINO are both wonderful restaurants who source as locally as anyone in town.

For dinner, I was supposed to make Roast Chicken, with a Richardson Farms chicken, but friends called news of a good day, and one thing led to another, and we ended up at Cafe Josie to celebrate.  We split the calamari, and I had pepita redfish.  Cafe Josie has revamped their menu, and added a new bar, since I was last there.

 

Leave a Reply

