Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

A Peck of Plums, and Peppers June 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:31 am
Tags: , , ,

Peck of Plums

There is so much gorgeous fruit at the Farmer’s Markets these days.  I couldn’t resist these beautiful plums, sold by the peck and half peck.  They are not too sweet, and their skins are slightly tart.   I love the variance in color, it makes a pretty picture.

I harvested peppers a couple days ago, serranos and jalapenos.  Not nearly a peck. The serranos are not hot but the jalapenos are.  Arse backwards.  I wasn’t expecting such heat, so soon in the season, and made the mistake of eating one off the vine.  Yowza.

I’ll be looking at plum and pepper recipes today.  I’m not quite ready to start pickling yet, so I’ll do something fresh with the peppers.  Heirloom tomato salsa, perhaps.  Or gazpacho.

Not quite a peck of peppers

 

2 Responses to “A Peck of Plums, and Peppers”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    Your peppers are gorgeous. I have only gotten 4 jalapeños so far, and No. 1 was exactly like a bell pepper in taste and heat, and No. 2 was hot enough to roast the inside of my mouth. I picked them 1 week apart from each other. Craziness. I haven’t tried 3 and 4.

    I’ll be interested to see what you do with the peppers.

  2. Thanks Marc, I have always had good luck with peppers, maybe partly because I plant so many of them. I like them hotttt! I’ve still got lots pickled from last fall, so I’m not sure what’s in store for the first of the season.


Leave a Reply

