Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 142 May 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:52 pm
Tags:

After the splurgefest which included Frito Pie and Mexican food, my plan for yesterday was to eat light, until dinner, which was to be a wine and food pairing event at Jack Allen’s, Sponsored by Go Texan.

So, a peach for breakfast, check.  Then I made pesto which is detailed in my former post.   I took a container of pesto to my friends Christian and Jamie.  Lunch was equally light, tomato, homemade mozzarella, pesto, salt, pepper and olive oil.    Then, things started to come off the rails a tad, and there was a pizza involved.  So, mid afternoon snack, a couple slices of pizza.  Let the dinner fest begin:

The Jack Allen’s event paired wines with food, and highlighted several Texas wines. I was a guest of Michelle, of Foodie is the New Forty and it was a real treat!

For starters:

Shrimp starter

This was really good paired with Chenin Blanc, and although I was not correct at guessing which wine was from Texas, I did prefer the Fall Creek Vineyards Chenin Blanc.

Second course was seared redfish, which I failed to photograph.  It was served with Viognier, the Texas version being from Becker Vineyards.  It was really good.

Next up, Morroccan Spiced quail on cous cous, pared with Rose.  The McPherson Rose beat out the French rose, hands down, in my opinion.  I don’t drink much rose, but I think I should start!

Quail and Cous Cous

The main course was beef tenderloin, paired with both Sangiovese and Bordeaux Blend.  The beef was perfect, served with grilled corn off the cobb with cotija, and went great with all of the wines served with it, but my preference was the Inwood Magellan.

Beef with corn

Dessert was a ridiculously chocolate thing with blackberry and strawberry.  It was decadent.  More cudos to Jack Allen’s for being dedicated to using locally sourced ingredients, in such an artful way.

As if that wasn’t enough food for one day, we ended the evening with a late night snack of, yet more tomato, mozzarella, pesto goodness.

 

6 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 142”

  1. Sandi Says:

    Got to know, too how to grow lemon cucumbers! I love regular cucumbers so these sound incredibly delish….

  2. Optimista Says:

    Thanks for joining the fun! Sorry I drove you guys all over creation. So embarassed.

  3. Please. It was a blast!

  4. Optimista Says:

    At least Jamie said something before we arrived in Florida. 🙂


Leave a Reply

