Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Slow Food Happy Hour – Green Gate Farm May 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve just returned from a relaxing evening with my Slow Food friends at Green Gate Farm, which is off of Decker Lane East of Austin.  The farm, is the on the  old Bergstrom homestead.    Undeterred by my janky camera situation, I took pictures!  Then I dragged my real photographer friend, Marshall, around, showing him what I thought would make a good shot, and he let me without a hint of annoyance at my wannabe photographer eagerness.

I love barns.  I fell in love with this barn, which reminded me of my grandfather’s barn:

love this barn

The fact that there was wine being served outside the barn made it all the better!  I went in to poke around and found lots of marvels.  I climbed the creaky stairs to the second story, to find barnloads of garlic drying.

Garlic drying in the barn

More garlic  drying in the barn

I so wanted to sit in the window, and hang my feet down and watch the happenings  all around the farm, but it didn’t seem appropriate, so I didn’t.

Next I went to visit the hog pen.  Oh my.

Big arse hog

One was just laying in the feed trough, eating then falling asleep.

This little goat was everywhere, and kept getting in trouble and having to be carried off.  Her name was Callie, and it was obvious to me that she liked the attention of getting carried off, so she kept getting into trouble on purpose.

Callie the trouble making goat

Then there was this goat beast, who answered to no one:

His Goatness, Sir, to you and me

There were fields of tomatoes, planted next to a row of sunflowers:

Field of tomato dreams

Sunflower

Rows and rows of other crops:

Rows of farm crops

I fell in love with this tractor, wanted to sit on it, but again, restrained myself from acting like a child on a farm for the first time.

I heart this tractor

All in all, it was a pleasant, albeit hot evening, at Green Gate Farm with Slow Food Austin.  (www.slowfoodaustin.org)  There was wine, cocktails, and good local farm food for all to share in a wonderful setting.   And for this wannabe farm girl, there was a barn, a tractor, chickens, goats, hogs, and lots of reasons to keep on dreaming.

 

8 Responses to “Slow Food Happy Hour – Green Gate Farm”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    What a great farm. I grew up with grandparents that had a farm like that, and I really miss it. There’s a big part of me that would go back to that lifestyle if I could.

    But I think I would have sat in the window, appropriate or not. I used to do that a lot in my grandpa’s hayloft.

  2. I used to spend a lot of time, daydreaming in haybarns and I miss it.

  3. Optimista Says:

    This post made me smile. You are so awesome, Ms. C.

    I want to be a big arse hog in my next life, eating out of a trough, then falling asleep. Marvelous.

    Oh, wait. I already am.

    • @ optimista: LOL, your so funny..
      @ Ms. C: i love your blog.. and of course with the barn in the pictures.. reminds me to take after my farmville at fb 😛

      • My farm tour blog entries are always my favorites. I have gone back to this Green Gate day and re-read a bunch of times. There are more farm tours in the future and I’ll be at as many as I can. I find it hard to leave at the end of each one, I’d just rather hang behind and be a farm hand.

  4. You are not a big arse hog in any life, silly.

  5. Jodi Says:

    Sitting in a barn and letting my legs dangle sounds nice to me!


Leave a Reply

