Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Garden Trinity May 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:35 am
Tags: , , , ,

I love to cook, although lately I haven’t had as much time to cook as I would like.   If I can make something entirely from my garden, that makes me happy.  During Spring and Summer, many dishes start with tomatoes, onions, and peppers, as did my brunch yesterday.  And I grew them all.

Tomatoes, onions, peppers

I’ve had 5 or 6 ripe tomatoes already, but they didn’t last long enough to accumulate.  I have a box full of onions, and more in the ground still, and many more peppers on the way.  I jumped the gun a little on these, and they tasted mostly green and fresh, but not too peppery.

Once I’ve accumulated enough tomatoes, I’ll make some salsa, too.  Food from the garden rocks!

And, I was just in the other room getting my coffee, and the story on the news was that frozen blueberries and strawberries were found to contain up to 28% organophosphates, a pesticide, found to cause ADD in children.  One more reason to grow your own.

And here’s the link:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/37156010/ns/health-kids_and_parenting/

 

Leave a Reply

