Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Corn as High as an Elephant’s Eye? May 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:55 am
Tags: , ,

The saying is “Corn as High as an Elephant’s Eye.”  But none of my corn would cause a golden retriever to look over it to see a squirrel.  It all looks healthy, some moreso than others, but it looks like corn.  I’ve never grown corn, so I’m not sure what to expect.  I have recently read that you shouldn’t grow corn and tomatoes together, and my crazy productive Celebrity tomato is planted with the corn.  I also planted black beans as an experiment.  Beans add nitrogen to the soil, and corn likes that.  Anyway, my dream of seeing out my bedroom window has come true.  I just have to get out of bed, open the shutters, and look down about two feet.  I’m ever hopeful…

Corn where Nandina used to live

 

4 Responses to “Corn as High as an Elephant’s Eye?”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Hi Carla,
    I hope all is well. Your corn is looking good, what type of seeds did you use?

    Happy Gardening from Sandra

  2. Marc O. Says:

    Icky nandina. Glad it’s gone.


Leave a Reply

