Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

First of the Season – Tomatoes May 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:36 am
Tags: , , ,

This morning I headed out to water the corn (I love saying that!) and the first thing I spotted was a flash of brilliant red.  The first two tomatoes were ready to be picked!  They could have stayed on another day, but I was anxious to expose the 4 or 5 much larger tomatoes underneath to the sun, so I plucked them.  They are on the smallish side, but blemish free and a wonderful sign of the goodness to come.  I have serrano peppers that could be picked today, but I’m going to let them get bigger.  Now, back out to water the corn.  (I just wanted to say it again.)

First two tomatoes!

 

2 Responses to “First of the Season – Tomatoes”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    Yay! They’re gorgeous. And this means mine can’t be too far behind.

  2. Sometimes I feel a bit silly, getting so excited about such things. But I can’t help it!


Leave a Reply

