Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Hunger Awareness Blog Project April 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:04 am
Tags:

I am very proud of my friends who are participating in the Capital Area Food Bank Hunger Awareness Blog Project.   The project, the brainchild of Kristi Willis and Addie Broyles, has been to cook for one week, using foods one might typically find in a food bank pantry, and blog about it to raise awareness.   I’ve been following along with several of their daily menus here:

http://austinfoodbank.wordpress.com/austin-food-bloggers/

I have conducted a food drive in my office building for the last 8 or so years for the Capital Area Food Bank, and so I’m aware of the kinds of foods that get donated.  Some donations are quite thoughtful, but many seem a feeble attempt at clearing the pantry of unwanted foods, food gift items, and really random food items.  Sadly, many of the donated food products are some of the unhealthiest things one can consume.    Sodium laden Top Ramen is a popular item.   Someone once donated a half empty bottle of Dr. Pepper, which I promptly threw away.

Following along with this project has made me quite aware of how fortunate I am to have the means to grow my own food, and shop from the freshest local ingredients at our farmer’s markets.    Many Austinites are not so fortunate.  I encourage you to donate where you can, money is great, food is great too.  There are things that can be donated that are healthier, higher quality food items, such as peanut butter, canned tuna, canned tomatoes and lower salt soups, and bags of beans.

Great work food bloggers, I’m proud to know you.

 

One Response to “Hunger Awareness Blog Project”


Leave a Reply

