Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Growing Tomatoes in an Earthbox April 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:57 pm
Tags: , ,

The tomato plants I planted in my Earthbox, are huge.  I don’t want to put myself out of the raised garden business, but by comparison, the Earthbox tomatoes are bigger, heartier looking and more advanced with regard to setting fruit.  Most of my tomato plants are heirlooms, with a couple of Celebrities mixed in.   Here are the plants in the Earthbox.

Tomatoes in an Earthbox

And they are setting fruit.

Tomatoes setting fruit

I believe the difference is the available source of water in the reservoir at the bottom of  the Earthbox.  My garden has to wait until I water it, but the Earthbox, sort of waters itself.  Looking forward to tomatoes, no matter where they grow.

 

Leave a Reply

