Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 115 and 116 April 28, 2010

I survived the Green Living Show, and have getting back into my routine, thankfully.

Monday, Day 115, I had a slice of Kocurek Molassas bacon for breakfast.  Lunch was a salad with farmer’s market lettuce, a farmer’s market tomato, (I’m so ready for my own garden tomatoes!) and some Brazos Valley parmesan with Kelly Jo’s serrano salsa for dressing.  I was happy to find that she had a booth at the Green Living show, and I snatched some up since I’d missed several farmer’s markets.  Dinner was an omlette with Vital Farms eggs, my herbs, Kocurek bacon and Full Quiver pepper jack.

Day 116, I had garden strawberries for breakfast, trout and green beans at Asti Trattoria for lunch, and a  grilled ribeye from Richardson farms, with balsamic carmelized garden onions and farmer’s market asparagus.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Days 115 and 116”

  1. Kelly Kocurek Says:

    I know this is random, but I was just bored and searching through the web when I found this website and the name Kocurek is such a rare name I feel like. You don’t meet many Kocurek’s, so I was wondering if we might be related????

    • Hi Kelly,
      I have no idea! There have been some well known Kocureks in Austin, in fact, our convention center is named after one. Neil, I believe. The Kocureks I speak about are distantly related to him. I believe Lawrence Kocurek is from the Lockhart area, but I’m not positive about that. They shut their business down a couple years ago, and he is now the Executive Chef at Trace in the W Hotel. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

