Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Garden Strawberry Harvest April 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:49 am
Tags: , ,

The first thing I do every morning these days, besides starting the coffee, is head out to the garden with a bowl to pick strawberries.  They are ripening every day and producing like crazy.  If you leave them too long, the doodle bugs will eat them, and the birds will be attracted to their vibrant red color, and peck at them.   Here is my harvest from this morning, which has been typical for the last several weeks:

Strawberries fron the gardenI don’t know what strawberries cost in the grocery store, since I haven’t been this year, but I’m fairly certain that saving money by growing my own.    My strawberry patch is in a 4×4 area of the my raised garden, and I planted half a flat of Sequoia’s and half a flat of Chandlers in December.  If memory serves, I spent around $20 on strawberry plants.  And, I know exactly what was in the soil that grew them, and that they were treated with nothing.

 

2 Responses to “Garden Strawberry Harvest”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    You’re definitely saving money. A pint of pesticide-laden strawberries from California is usually $3-4 and not very fresh… moldy within a couple days if you don’t eat them.

    Kudos! I’m definitely following your lead next year.

    • It has been a couple of years since I bought grocery store strawberries. I had forgotten how fast they get moldy. Then again, I don’t know how long the garden strawberries would last, because I just keep eating them!


Leave a Reply

