Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 103 April 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This is really serious.   I still can’t find my camera.    I feel as if I’ve lost an appendage and it had pictures of the East Austin Farm Tour, and my corn and black beans sprouting.  I must find the camera, this sucks.

I didn’t eat all day, except for a couple of garden strawberries, because they needed to be picked.  We installed a garden with critter barrier for a gift for a 3 year old, that may have been the cutest child I’ve ever seen.  She chatted with us the entire time about her garden, what she was going to plant, mostly tomatoes, and then she would run off chattering into thin air.  We always answered her, unsure if she was in need of a response.  Then we got a garden call that interested me.  A blind man wanting us to install a flower garden in his yard.  My inclination is to put in herbs, and cilantro, and other wonderfully scented herbs that he can feel and eat, but that isn’t what we are hired to do.  That will be an interesting job, and one I particularly look forward to.

I ate a few strawberries throughout the day, but mostly held off for the Wine Me Dine Me Dinner at Cafe Josie with Michelle and Chris, of http://www.foodieisthenewforty. com fame and Christian and Jamie, of http://www.austinfoodjournal.com and http://www.violaandjean.com.  Great food, of which I have no photos, because I seem to have really lost my camera.  I must find it soon, or I’ll be lost.

UPDATE!  I found the camera in my garage.  Photos coming soon.

The Menu for last night’s dinner was:

Walnut, Dired Pear and Gorgonzola Foccacia, with Gundlach Bundschu (hereinafter “GB”) Gewurztraminer,

Lobster Callaloo with GB Merlot

Mesquite Seared Yellowfin Tuna, with GB Pinot Noir

Spice Brined Roast ork Tenderloin with GB Mountain Cuvee

Braised Beef Tenderloin with GB Cabernet Sauvignon

Raspberry Sorbet with a scoop of chocolate sorbet/ice cream

And, I won a bottle of GB Pinot Noir in a drawing.  And, we drank it after dinner.

 

One Response to “No Grocery Store, Day 103”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Hooray! You found your camera!


Leave a Reply

