Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 102 April 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

Strawberries!  I hope I don’t get sick of them, because they are gangbusters, still.  Breakfast – strawberries.  Lunch, leftover swordfish on garden salad greens with a garden Spring onion, and Kelly Jo’s cilantro salsa for dressing.  After an extremely grueling day of garden installations and pulling an overly heavy trailer full of soil to Cedar Park with my Explorer, nothing appealed to me more than a hot shower, and Dai Due chorizo and scrambled duck eggs with Taco Deli green Dona, which I call crack sauce.  I get this at the farmer’s market and it is amazing and hot and perfect.   Why is mushy food so comforting?  Do we get so tired that chewing is to much of an effort?  My comfort foods all require little chewing, mashed potatoes, scrambled eggs, pasta.  Is it even possible that we become to tired to chew?  Is that why these are comforting?  Or is it that they seem to stay warm all the way down to your stomach.  I’m not sure.  I never really gave it much thought.  But, chewing sounded like a bit too much, so eggs were the answer.

I want to do a post about the East Austin Farm tour, but I  have misplaced my camera.  I’m sure it is around, I’m just a bit too tired to look.

 

Leave a Reply

